Why there is no new release yet

“Almost August, and no new newsbeuter release, yet?”, you may ask yourself. Well, the reasons for it are manifold.

First of all, one reason was that I recently didn’t have too much time for working on any new newsbeuter stuff due to lack of time. My regular work consumes most of my energy, so I haven’t been able to do any remotely productive private programming work in the last few months.

Another huge factor is that the current state in git isn’t quite ready to release yet: it pretty much has the features that I want the next release to have, but it still has a few nasty bugs in it (segmentation faults, deadlocks) that I introduced since the release of newsbeuter 2.0 but was unable to find so far. And, due to lack of time, I never had any good opportunity to actually spend some time on debugging.

And last, but not least, I’m going to spend two weeks of holidays in August. Until then, I still have quite a lot to do, so there will be no work on newsbeuter in July and August. Well, maybe end of August. Sorry, folks, it will still take a few weeks for the next release (but definitely within 2009!). Unless maybe somebody else does the debugging work for me. ;-)

15 Responses to Why there is no new release yet

  1. damaged justice says:

    I love newsbeuter, so thanks for writing it. I’m glad to hear development will continue :) One request — would you be willing to add some sort of ‘quiet/silent’ option that disables the display when it’s updating feeds? Then I could use screen’s Monitor command to show new activity in that window, and it would actually indicate new feed content rather than just the process of checking for new stuff.

  2. fdjdfjgfmgh says:

    Are we able to merge feeds yet?

    We could have this if we were able to have hidden feeds in the urls file.

  3. Fay says:

    My programmer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.

    I have always disliked the idea because of the
    expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using
    Movable-type on several websites for about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform.
    I have heard good things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into it?

    Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

  4. Antonietta says:

    Very quickly this web page will be famous amid
    all blogging viewers, due to it’s nice articles or reviews

  5. Susanne says:

    Curtain drapes, blinds, or plantation shutters, whichever you choose, they all have the
    capacity to transform your house. When it’s time to update your home with new window treatments, you may want to consider more than just aesthetics. Prices will vary based on the scope of the project.

  6. This brings us to the fundamental question: what is SEO. They named such interest
    as ‘dark tourism’, and suggested other locations
    included the Nazi-extermination camp of Auschwitz; Cambodia’s ‘killing fields’ and Hiroshima in Japan, site of the atomic bomb of 1945. They should be unique from your overall site description and relate specifically to this article.

  7. dating Sites says:

    Fridays and Saturdays are big nights (possibly too big and too much pressure for a
    first date), and nobody likes going out at the beginning of the week on Sunday, Monday or Tuesday.
    They discussed these issues of church and location
    in their first few conversations. Surely, you will get hurt by a sudden rejection as a result of these lies told by you.

  8. Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look
    forward to new posts.

  9. I just like the helpful information you provide to
    your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and take a look at again right here regularly. I’m reasonably
    certain I’ll learn plenty of new stuff right right here! Good luck for the next!

  10. I just like the helpful info you supply for your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and take a look at again here regularly.
    I’m moderately certain I’ll learn plenty of new stuff right here!

    Good luck for the next!

  11. Hello, I do think your site might be having browser compatibility problems.

    Whenever I look at your web site in Safari, it looks fine but
    when opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to give you a quick heads up! Apart from that, wonderful blog!

  12. This design is wicked! You obviously know how to keep a reader
    amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.
    ..HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really loved what you had to say, and
    more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  13. Kristi says:

    Hi are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started
    and create my own. Do you need any coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  14. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my web site thus i came to “return the
    favor”.I’m trying to find things to improve my website!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

