A great rant about Linux feed readers – and a great testimonial for newsbeuter!

The infamous Zed Shaw has posted a hilarious rant about his search for a Linux RSS feed reader that fits his requirements. The main criticism he brings up in the evaulation of different feed readers is exactly the type of stuff that annoyed me so much that I started to write newsbeuter in late 2006.

And, to my great pleasure, newsbeuter is exactly the tool that fits his needs. He even calls newsbeuter “The Mutt of Feed Readers”. He describes all the stuff he uses and likes, and it’s obviously all the features that I implemented to make newsbeuter better and greater than the others (I especially had snownews and raggle in my mind, initially). Plus it’s a great testimonial that I went the absolutely right way during development.

So, enjoy the article!

One Response to A great rant about Linux feed readers – and a great testimonial for newsbeuter!

  1. oren says:

    thanks for a great product!

    unfortunately ubuntu 8.04 repositories has version 0.7 where my favorite feature is missing – to update only visible feeds.

    I try to install 0.9.1 and get this when typing make:
    xmlrss/_mrss.h:23:23: error: curl/curl.h: No such file or directory

    btw, i have curl install.

    any idea?

Leave a Reply

